topBanner

Get Informed

Everything evolves so quickly in our food industry which makes it crucial to stay up to date on significant changes and trends. Please refer to the updated articles in this section for convenient info on important topics.
 

CANADIAN BEEF GRADES

 
AAA
 
The grading of beef carcasses relies on a standardized measurement system to segregate product into classes with uniform characteristics and to support pricing decisions based on expectations of meat quality and yield.
 
In both Canada and the U.S., a quality grade as well as a yield grade can be assigned. The quality grade measures parameters related to eating quality and consumer acceptance.
 
Canada has developed grading standards that mirror the U.S. marbling standards (Canada Prime, Canada AAA, Canada AA, Canada A). Canada’s standards include grading for additional quality characteristics beyond those graded by the U.S. standards, which may result in a more consistent product for customers.

Marbling

 
Marbling is intramuscular fat (fat between muscle fibers) which is visible as white flecks. The size and distribution of marbling deposits has a significant impact on eating quality. In the U.S., level of marbling is the primary quality characteristic that determines the grade category into which beef is placed. In Canada qualities in addition to marbling are considered. Canadian marbling standards mirror those measured for in the U.S.

Maturity

 
Only carcasses assessed as youthful qualify for Canada Prime, Canada AAA, Canada AA or Canada A grades. As a general rule, meat from older animals becomes less tender.

Meat colour

 
Consumers prefer beef that is a bright red colour. In some cases stress depleting energy stores in the muscle can result in meat becoming dark. This is known in the industry as “dark cutters”. Dark cutters are not permitted in Canada’s top four grades. Dark cutters are accepted in USDA Choice, Select and Standard grades unless specified otherwise.

Fat colour

 
Consumers generally prefer beef with fat that appears white over beef with fat that appears yellow. Yellow fat frequently is an indication that the meat is from an older animal. Under the Canadian grading system, carcasses with yellow fat cannot be graded Canada Prime, AAA, AA or A. Presently yellow fat is not considered a quality defect in the U.S. grading system.

Meat texture

 
The best eating quality is associated with a firm muscle texture. Firm muscle texture is a requirement in all four Canadian grades. The present USDA grading system has a minimum standard of moderately firm muscle texture for the Prime through Select grades and permits a soft muscle texture in the Standard grade.

Muscling

 
Muscling is an indication of the carcass’s ability to yield efficiently and also provides an overall measure of quality. Carcasses which are graded Canada Prime, AAA, AA or A must have a minimum standard of muscling measured as good to excellent with some deficiencies. There is no muscling requirement for USDA Prime, USDA Choice, USDA Select or USDA Standard.
 
Want to know more about this topic? Visit www.canadianbeef.info for further details.

Leave a Reply

Lauzon Meats is a division of Colabor

topBanner

Informez-vous

Dans un marché où tout bouge si vite, nous jugeons qu’il est important d’être à l’affût des changements et actualités. Consultez nos articles régulièrement pour être bien informé sur les produits, tendances et actualités de l’industrie.
 

SYSTÈME DE CLASSEMENT DU BOEUF CANADIEN

 
AAA
 
Le classement des carcasses de boeuf repose sur un système de mesures standardisées qui permettent de diviser les produits en catégories possédant des caractéristiques uniformes et de faciliter l’établissement des prix selon les attentes de qualité et de rendement de la viande.
 
Au Canada comme aux É.-U., les produits peuvent faire l’objet d’un classement relatif à la qualité et d’un classement relatif au rendement. Le classement relatif à la qualité mesure les paramètres associés aux qualités gustatives et à l’acceptabilité par les consommateurs.
 
Le Canada a adopté des normes de classement qui correspondent aux normes de persillage en vigueur aux É.-U. (Canada Primé, Canada AAA, Canada AA, Canada A). Les normes canadiennes tiennent compte de caractéristiques de qualité additionnelles, comparativement aux normes américaines, ce qui peut se traduire par un produit plus uniforme pour le consommateur.

Persillage

 
Le persillage est le gras intramusculaire (gras entre les fibres musculaires) visible sous forme de particules blanches. La quantité et la distribution du persillage ont une influence considérable sur les qualités gustatives. Aux É.-U., le persillage est la principale caractéristique de qualité qui détermine la catégorie attribuée au boeuf. Au Canada, des caractéristiques additionnelles sont considérées. Les normes de persillage en vigueur au Canada ont été harmonisées avec celles utilisées aux É.-U.

Maturité

 
Seules les jeunes carcasses sont acceptées dans les catégories Canada Primé, Canada AAA, Canada AA ou Canada A. Règle générale, la viande des animaux plus âgés devient moins tendre.

Couleur de la viande

 
Les consommateurs préfèrent le boeuf de couleur rouge vif. Dans certains cas où les réserves d’énergie du muscle ont été épuisées en raison d’un stress, la viande peu devenir foncée. C’est ce qu’on appelle les coupes sombres (dark cutters, en anglais). Au Canada, les coupes sombres ne sont pas permises dans les quatre catégories supérieures. Les coupes sombres sont acceptées dans les catégories USDA Choice, Select et Standard, sauf indications contraires.

Couleur du gras

 
En général, les consommateurs préfèrent le boeuf recouvert de gras blanc plutôt que de gras jaune. Le gras jaune indique souvent que la viande provient d’un animal plus âgé. Conformément au système de classement en vigueur au Canada, les carcasses au gras jaune ne peuvent être classées Canada Primé, AAA, AA ou A. À l’heure actuelle, le gras jaune n’est pas considéré comme un défaut de qualité dans le système de classement utilisé aux É.-U.

Texture de la viande

 
La meilleure qualité gustative est associée à un muscle de texture ferme. Une texture ferme est une exigence pour la quatre catégories canadiennes. Le système de classement actuellement en vigueur aux É.-U. comporte une norme minimale de fermeté modérée du muscle pour les catégories Prime jusqu’à Select et permet une texture molle du muscle pour la catégorie Standard.

Musculature

 
La musculature est une indication du rendement efficace de la carcasse et est une mesure générale de qualité. Les carcasses classées Canada Prime, AAA, AA ou A doivent rencontrer une norme minimale de musculature de bonne à excellente, avec quelques déficiences. Les catégories USDA Prime, USDA Choice, USDA Select ou USDA Standard ne font l’objet d’aucune exigence de musculature.
 
Vous désirez en savoir plus? Visitez le www.canadianbeef.info pour tous les détails.

Laisser un commentaire

Viandes Lauzon est une division de Colabor